Which managers have lifted the trophy with India? » FirstSportz

indian managers

India lifted their 8th SAFF Championship title yesterday by defeating Nepal 3-0 within the remaining and stay essentially the most dominant staff within the historical past of the match. India’s first of the whole eight titles got here within the inaugural version of the match, when the staff was led by head coach Jiri Pesek.

The most recent triumph previous to 2021 got here in 2015, when Stephen Constantine headed the dugout and Igor Stimac’s victory makes him the third international coach to guide the Indian staff to glory. Igor Stimac didn’t have the complete squad with him as star defender Sandesh Jhingan and goalkeeper Amrinder Singh have been lacking from his ranks.

Igor Stimac turned the sixth totally different coach to win the match with India, due to this fact allow us to take a look at the opposite managers, their nationality and the yr of victory, succeeding in getting India the cup.  

Jiri Pesek – Czech Republic – 1993

My Post 15 1 6 - FirstSportz
SAFF Championship: Which managers have lifted the trophy with India? 3

Jiri Pesek received the 1993 version with the Indian staff which was led by captain and star defender VP Sathyan. Pesek was a Czech Republican nationwide who performed for a number of massive golf equipment like Sparta Praha and Slavia Praha. As a supervisor, he coached the nationwide staff of Finland and different international locations.

Syed Nayeemuddin – India – 1997, 2005

In 1997, Nayeemuddin was named India’s coach, and he promptly received the SAFF Championship by defeating the Maldives 5–1. His first stint with India ended after the Asian Video games in December 1998, however his second stint with the nation started when he took over as coach from Sukhwinder Singh in 2005, capturing his second SAFF title.

Sukhwinder Singh – India – 1999, 2009

My Post 14 1 7 - FirstSportz
SAFF Championship: Which managers have lifted the trophy with India? 4

Sukhwinder Singh is most recognized for successful the SAFF Championship with the Indian senior squad in 1999 and with the India U-23 staff in 2009. Singh can also be most regarded for India’s efficiency within the 2002 World Cup Qualifiers, the place they completed second of their group owing solely to objective distinction.

Savio Medeira – India – 2011

Savio Medeira was appointed within the later days of 2011 and his first task was to win the SAFF Championship in December 2011. He succeeded in doing it as India beat Afghanistan 4-0, within the remaining. Savio coached India in the course of the 2012 match towards Bayern Munich the place they misplaced the sport 4-0.

Stephen Constantine – England – 2016

Constantine was probably the greatest managers India ever had as he helped the staff climb from 173 to 97 within the FIFA rankings in a span of three years. He additionally received the Sports activities Illustrated Coach of the 12 months with India. His SAFF glory got here in January 2016, when India beat Afghanistan within the remaining by a 2-1 margin.

Igor Stimac – Croatia – 2021

Stimac is definitely one of the vital high-profile names to develop into the supervisor of the Indian Natioanl staff managers as he additionally coached the Croatian Nationwide staff and took them to sky excessive place within the FIFA rating. Stimac has modified the fashion of play drastically as India eased their option to their eighth SAFF trophy yesterday.

Additionally learn: The post-Sunil Chhetri era: What would happen to the Indian setup after Chhetri retires?

https://firstsportz.com/football-saff-championship-winners-with-india/ | Which managers have lifted the trophy with India? » FirstSportz


Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@interreviewed.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button