Variety Wins Nine First-Place Honors at SoCal Journalism Awards

Selection received 9 first-place SoCal Journalism Awards from the Los Angeles Press Club Saturday evening, together with an leisure journalist of the yr honor for movie critic Owen Gleiberman, repeating his win in that prime class from two years in the past.

A double winner, Gleiberman additionally picked up a first-place prize for movie criticism on the LAPC ceremony, which returned to its longtime Millennium Biltmore Lodge Crystal Ballroom location — with a totally vaccinated viewers — after going down as an internet occasion final yr.

Others claiming first-place trophies for his or her Selection work included Matt Donnelly, Jennifer Dorn, Sophy Holland, Angelique Jackson, Tucker Morrison, Preston Northrup, Ramin Setoodeh, Elizabeth Wagmeister, Chris Willman and Meredith Woerner.

With 14 second-place prizes and 13 third-place finishers additionally factored in, Selection‘s final tally of honors for the night stood at 36, essentially the most awarded to any leisure publication.

Of Gleiberman’s win for leisure journalist, the judges mentioned, “Owen Gleiberman’s perceptive film critiques, coupled along with his profiles of filmmakers and actors such because the late Chadwick Bozeman and his insights on the pandemic’s results on film theaters, makes for compelling studying and understanding. Gleiberman is, certainly, the Leisure Journalist of the 12 months.”

Singer-actress Janelle Monae was the topic of a Selection cowl for a Energy of Girls bundle that earned a finest portrait photograph award for Selection photograph director Jennifer Dorn and the picture’s photographer, Sophy Holland. The judges described the duvet picture as “an excellent reflection of a persona and a star, with no slightest trace of contrivance.”

The online staff was represented by a win for deputy editor Meredith Woerner, supervising producer Preston Northrup and video producer and editor Tucker Morrison within the division rewarding leisure information or characteristic movies over 5 minutes lengthy for “How Ludwig Goransson Created ‘The Mandalorian’s’ Iconic Opening Howl.” Wrote the judges, “The artistic, collaborative course of of making movie music is superbly conveyed on this wonderful piece.”

Senior leisure author Angelique Jackson scored a first-place trophy for her article “Man of Motion: Tyler Perry on Producing In the course of the Pandemic and why He’s Weighing In on Politics” within the movie/TV persona profile class. The judges mentioned: “‘Man of Motion’ is a murals — nicely written and informative all through. The a number of sources cited grows the viewers’s curiosity, however doesn’t distract from the primary story line. Effectively-formed for a compelling story that reads like a novella.”

Pandemic reporting additionally figured into the win by senior leisure and media author Matt Donnelly within the TV/movie on-line information characteristic class for his article “A Day on a Movie Set within the Time of Coronavirus.” Stated the judges, “Studying these submissions felt like opening a time-capsule from ten years in the past. However the submission from Matt Donnelly of Selection, ‘A Day on a Movie Set within the Time of Coronavirus,’ stood out as a snapshot that also felt new and contemporary months later. The power to explain the minute particulars of such a chaotic time was a triumph in entry and attentive reporting.”

Govt editor Ramin Setoodeh received within the on-line life-style characteristic class for his article “Barneys, Fabulous Division Retailer for Film Stars, Closes at 97.” “When one thing is deeply felt, researched and skilled, the writing shines and compels the reader to expertise it,” the judges wrote. “That is what life-style writing must be.”

Senior correspondent Elizabeth Wagmeister picked up a trophy for “Six Strangers Testified In opposition to Harvey Weinstein, Now They’re Bonded for Life” within the leisure information or characteristic class/print magazines class. The judges mentioned it was a “highly effective story a few courageous lady and the hardships she confronted after one of many nation’s most provocative scandals.”

Options editor Chris Willman was a winner within the humor/satire writing class for his important roundup of “The 100 Worst Songs of 2020.” Judges referred to as the piece “a artistic, detailed have a look at the soiled dozen ditties of 2020, with particular concentrate on Van Morrison’s anti-masking, anti-lockdown ear fails.”

The total listing of SoCal Journalism Awards winners, together with the judges’ commentary on the highest finishers, may be discovered on the L.A. Press Membership’s website here.

The rollout of the awards to journalists who work for L.A.-based publications was interspersed with the Press Membership giving particular honors to veteran print or broadcast personalities or celebrities who’ve labored intently with the media on essential initiatives. Longtime ABC7 Eyewitness Information anchor Marc Brown was the recipient of the Joseph M. Quinn Award, launched by colleague and frequent LAPC host George Pennacchio. The President’s Award went to CNN medical correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta. Bari Weiss, the previous New York Occasions opinion editor who left the newspaper after clashing with different staffers, accepted the Daniel Pearl Award for braveness and integrity in journalism. Sean Penn and Ann Lee received a Public Service Award for his or her work with Core, launched by L.A. hearth chief Ralph M. Terrazas.

The Los Angeles Press Membership has simply introduced a date for its different annual awards ceremony, the Nationwide Arts & Leisure Journalism Awards, set to happen on the Biltmore on Feb. 5, 2022. | Selection Wins 9 First-Place Honors at SoCal Journalism Awards


Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button