The London Majors are consecutive IBL champions – London

The London Majors clinched their second straight Intercounty Baseball League championship Thursday night with a dramatic 8-7 comeback win in Game 6 against the Toronto Maple Leafs.

With two outs and London trailing 7-2 in the eighth inning, it looked very much like the two-year trend would continue. The teams had played 10 IBL Championship Series games against each other and the home side had won every single one of them.

Continue reading:

New and old faces are coming for the London Knights

But then Taylor Wright hit a home run to make it 7:3.

At the bottom of the eighth inning, London dealt with three Toronto hitters in six fields and built the momentum.

The story continues below the ad

Still, the majors were down to their last three outs and needed four more runs to keep the game atop ninth place.

The inning was as wild as it had to be for London. Maple Leafs pitchers threw five wild pitches, Byron Reichstein got through with another clutch home run, and the game ended in a tie with two outs and Wright back at the plate for London.

The Vancouver, BC native hit a sacrificial fly that Gibson Krzeminski scored and London took the lead.

Continue reading:

Preview of Western Mustang’s 2022 football season

Fernando Fernandez came in to try and end things on the mound for the Majors. A double play and a strikeout later, the celebrations began for the second time in almost two years.

London had passed 46 years between championships before the last season, which dates back to 1975.

They kept the IBL’s streak of repeat champions alive by winning again in 2022.

Continue reading:

Failing to make it helped William Nicholl become a Knight of London

Since 2008, only three franchises have won titles.

The story continues below the ad

The Brantford Red Sox won six straight championships between 2008 and 2013.

After that streak, the Barrie Baycats took over and won their own straight half-dozen between 2014 and 2019.

There will be a championship celebration for the majors on Friday evening (September 23) from 6 p.m

© 2022 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc. The London Majors are consecutive IBL champions – London


Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button