News

The Bloody and Tragic End of Scientology’s Biggest Pop Star

On April 22, the day earlier than he died, Jakub Stepniak recorded a cellphone message for one among his docs.

He’s barely audible in it. He thanks his physician for calling him and, barely above a whisper, says that he’s there together with his uncle, and that “the irritation is so dangerous.” He then says one thing about making an attempt to achieve one other physician. And he finishes the message with an ominous ultimate utterance: “I don’t know if I’ll survive to the morning.”

The following day, on April 23, Stepniak’s uncle, Danny Maghen, who was staying at his condo, discovered Jakub unresponsive. He had died in his sleep.

5 years earlier, Stepniak celebrated his twenty fifth birthday in Santa Barbara, California, together with his father Andrzej, a Polish economist, and two of his leisure handlers, Vikki Lizzi and MJ Lord. The event was captured on video, and Andrzej, smiling, holds up a placard that proclaims his son, “Kuba Ka, the God.”

Initially from Poland, Kuba Stepniak (“Kuba” is a standard shorthand for “Jakub” in Poland), achieved some native fame as an upstart youngster who made charity occasions occur with huge worldwide stars across the flip of the century. Then, after some form of hassle in his dwelling nation, he reemerged in Hollywood years later as an “worldwide pop star” by the identify of Kuba Ka. He put out a tune with Flavor Flav, appeared on the E! community in a short-lived actuality collection, and unironically started calling himself the “God of Pop.” After a brief flirtation with Scientology in 2017 resulted in catastrophe, he rebranded himself Amen Ra, an Egyptian god.

He was a chiseled, tall, handsome singer and dancer who was perpetually engaged on a brand new video or a brand new album, all the time chasing his dream of worldwide fame. After which, in late 2020, he abruptly developed an odd pores and skin situation that left him bleeding and in ache.

His household complains that his docs had been unable to diagnose what was fallacious with him, and that they made errors prescribing him drugs. Stepniak’s mom, Tina Trozzo, a lawyer, is wanting into submitting a malpractice go well with in opposition to Stepniak’s docs, who took $400,000 out of him past what his insurance coverage coated, she alleges.

It’s a stunning story of Hollywood striving gone fallacious: Stepniak was killed by incompetent medical care in one of many wealthiest, most technologically superior cities on the planet, destroying the budding profession of a future celebrity who had simply turned 30.

Besides that’s probably not the reality. The precise story is extra attention-grabbing—and way more disturbing.

I received to know Kuba Ka and his mom Tina in 2017, when he introduced on Twitter that he was ditching the Church of Scientology which, for just a few months, had determined that Stepniak actually was about to turn out to be its new celebrity celeb.

Kuba Ka (everybody nonetheless calls him that, even after he modified it to Amen Ra) was a lot humbler and disarming than I anticipated him to be after we spent a few hours speaking over Skype, and I got here to love him far more than I anticipated to.

He had a childlike belief in different individuals, and appeared to genuinely imagine that his artwork might assist heal the world.

I additionally discovered it charming that he had run afoul of Scientology for asking impertinent questions. He was very impressed with David Miscavige, for instance, the group’s final chief. Most Scientologists, even those that are within the church for many years, by no means get an opportunity to fulfill Miscavige, however simply weeks after Kuba Ka started his grooming as a church celeb he met the person twice.

blank

(L-R) Kuba Ka, his mom Tina Trozzo, his Uncle Danny, and Scientology handler Noah Bolduc

Handout

When Kuba requested if he might learn books written by Miscavige, he didn’t notice he’d dedicated a significant fake pas. Scientology has hundreds of thousands of written phrases of books and insurance policies, however it’s all written by the founder, L. Ron Hubbard, who died in 1986. And though Miscavige has complete management of the group at present, he would by no means dream of writing a brand new e-book of Scientology “know-how” on his personal.

For that and different transgressions, Kuba and the church discovered that they’d irreconcilable variations. An enormous twenty sixth party for Kuba scheduled on the Hollywood Superstar Centre for March 28, 2017, was canceled, and the singer took it so arduous he was briefly hospitalized.

I principally misplaced monitor of him at that time, however not earlier than listening to that he’d determined he was now an Egyptian god named Amen Ra. His outfits grew to become much more outlandish, his songs much more centered on his qualities as a deity.

Nevertheless it was a shock to listen to that he had died this previous April, and so younger. I reached out to Tina and was shocked by what she and Uncle Danny instructed me about Kuba’s ultimate weeks.

And but, what killed Kuba Ka was extra chilling than even they appeared to understand. It wasn’t till I obtained the person’s medical data to verify what the household solely hinted at that I started to grasp the true horror of Kuba’s finish.

After I was initially researching Kuba Ka’s youth, discovering it troublesome to wade by means of the huge quantity of mythology that Stepniak and his leisure handlers had put out about him, I used to be lucky to search out {that a} Polish journalist, Borys Kossakowski, had written a radical biography of Kuba for a Polish journal in 2015.

Kossakowski is now ending up a stint dwelling in Seattle, and I known as him to see if he had heard about Kuba’s demise. He had, and was as shocked as I used to be.

For that and different transgressions, Kuba and the church discovered that they’d irreconcilable variations. An enormous twenty sixth party for Kuba scheduled on the Hollywood Superstar Centre for March 28, 2017, was canceled, and the singer took it so arduous he was briefly hospitalized.

In his 2015 journal article, Kossakowski defined that Stepniak was from Gdansk and started making a reputation for himself in 2000, organizing charity live shows to learn stray canines and cats. (In response to the declare within the Santa Barbara video that he was turning 25 in 2016, this may have made Stepniak solely about 9 years previous when he emerged as a celebration planner in Poland. It was Kossakowski’s article that first recommended Kuba Ka may not be as younger as he claimed.)

Stepniak’s run of publicity in Poland resulted in 2004, and he instructed Kossakowski, “I nonetheless really feel ache. I can not settle for what occurred in Poland.”

He defined that he had been impressed partially by Poland’s first girl on the time, legal professional Jolanta Kwaśniewska, who had helped help his efforts. However then, he claimed, she had pressured him to cancel a Christmas 2004 charity live performance as a result of it conflicted with one among her personal occasions. She then supposedly instructed him, “You haven’t any place in present enterprise.”

That incident was so traumatizing, Stepniak mentioned, he suffered from PTSD for years afterwards. In 2007, he moved to the U.S. and tried to begin over, specializing in getting his physique in form as he grew into an grownup. “To be sincere, I nonetheless don’t really feel snug with myself,” he mentioned. “I’m continually fighting PTSD—health permits me to not make investments vitality in disappointment, anger, and melancholy.”

Kossakowski requested him the place the thought of declaring himself the “God of Pop” had come from. Stepniak replied that it had come from a dialog with Frank DiLeo, who had been Michael Jackson’s supervisor. (Kuba alleged that he had met Jackson himself in Poland, and that the singer had predicted huge issues for him.)

DiLeo managed Jackson from 1984 to 1989, by means of a few of Jackson’s largest successes. It was DiLeo, for instance, who talked the Gloved One into making the Thriller video. DiLeo managed Jackson once more briefly in 2009, simply earlier than the King of Pop’s demise. However DiLeo could also be even higher remembered for his position as Tuddy Cicero in Martin Scorsese’s 1990 gangster classic GoodFellas, working the taxi stand for his older brother Paulie, performed by Paul Sorvino. It’s DiLeo’s character Tuddy who, late within the movie, will get to bash in Joe Pesci’s cranium.

blank

Kuba Ka data his summer time single “Intercourse In Rio” at EastWest Studios In Hollywood on July 7, 2015, in Los Angeles, California.

Araya Doheny/Getty

“It was like this: We had been sitting with Frank DiLeo within the resort. He mentioned, ‘Kuba, I’ll make you a god.’ I favored it,” Stepniak instructed Kossakowski. Sadly for the Polish singer, DiLeo died in 2011 after that supposed dialog. Besides, a lot of the advertising of Kuba Ka tended to start with the concept he was chosen by DiLeo to be his subsequent nice venture after Jackson.

In 2007, DiLeo was the topic of an suave profile by Nashville Scene author Jack Silverman, himself an area musician. Silverman tells me at present that in his later years, DiLeo was apt to take a run at unlikely initiatives.

“I can really see him saying one thing like that,” Silverman says, once I requested him if DiLeo may even have instructed an formidable newcomer that he was going to make him a god.

However after DiLeo’s deadly coronary heart assault, Kuba Ka must make it in Hollywood on his personal.

Kuba’s profession was supposedly saved by LaToya Jackson after which different managers as he crafted his Greek god persona and issued some data that received little discover.

His fame could have reached its high-water mark when he was featured on a short-lived actuality collection on the E! community known as New Cash that poked enjoyable at individuals who had extra prepared money than good style. His episode aired on June 12, 2015, and featured him competing with two different “millionaires” for the title of that week’s tackiest spendthrift.

The opening strains of Kuba’s phase, exhibiting him swimming in an indoor pool, seize the texture of it.

Present narrator: Behold, the eighth surprise of Vegas, Kuba Ka!

Kuba Ka: I’m Kuba Ka. I’m 17 and I dwell world wide. I’m a contemporary rock and roll gypsy.

Narrator: Seventeen? Hm. Math have to be totally different in Poland.

Kuba: I’m like Poseidon, god of the seas.

Narrator: No matter you say, you Greek, Polish, uncommon individual.

The present’s skepticism and mocking tone established from the beginning, Kuba is adopted round his giant resort suite so he can showcase quite a few ridiculous props, together with a crown he supposedly stored on a pillow on his mattress ($12,000), the suite itself ($15,000 an evening), and a steel breastplate he deliberate to put on on stage ($50,000).

All of it comes off like a put-on that the present is completely in cahoots with, together with the subsequent phase, when Kuba exhibits off his $7,000 Versace spike-studded codpiece to his supervisor—his mom Tina—who appears genuinely horrified that he’s planning to go on stage within the leather-based bikini bottoms and chaps.

“However it’s even not attractive!” she blurts out in her quite charming accented English.

The following time we see him, Kuba has swapped out the spiked underwear for purple underwear which have a particular Sean Connery-in-Zardoz taste, and he’s being wired up for a stage present that may see him levitating above a set of scantily clad dancers.

What follows is a efficiency that the phrase “cringe” solely begins to explain, as Kuba “sings” the lyrics of a tune which don’t appear to go a lot past “Right here we go!” as he “dances” within the restricted means one might whereas strapped to a wired harness. The digicam additionally briefly captures the group, which is sparse.

On the climax of this practice wreck, a small eruption of sparks emanates abruptly from the middle of Kuba’s breastplate.

Narrator: Kuba’s followers go wild. Each of them.

Kuba Ka: Thanks a lot!

On the finish of the episode, the narrator broadcasts that second place goes to the girl of sudden wealth whose procuring sprees clear out whole furnishings shops, and this week’s first prize is gained by a flamboyant Hollywood garments designer who spends tens of 1000’s on apparel for the household pooch and whose boyfriend proposes to him on digicam.

Kuba Ka had positioned third out of three.

By the point I talked with Kuba in 2017, he had spent a decade in Hollywood chasing immortality, however what drew me to him was that for a short while the Church of Scientology really appeared to purchase into his dream.

In a two-hour Skype session, I talked with Kuba, Tina, Uncle Danny, and two of Kuba’s leisure handlers, Vikki Lizzi and MJ Lord.

The very first thing I seen was that Kuba turned out to be surprisingly humble for somebody who referred to himself unironically because the God of Pop, and he was too well mannered to interrupt Tina, who stored leaping in so as to add particulars from her perspective not solely as his mom but additionally as an legal professional who was very protecting of her solely youngster.

We went over his background, his charity exhibits in Poland and his later encounter with DiLeo, after which I requested him how, after a number of years making data in Hollywood, he had gotten concerned with Scientology.

He defined that he was changing into more and more sad with the way in which younger expertise was handled in Hollywood. “They had been promoting me for picture shoots. I felt like a bit of meat,” he mentioned. “They might say, in case you gained’t undress we’ll ship you again dwelling to Poland.”

He mentioned he would hear issues about Scientology, that it had a popularity for being drug-free and customarily against Hollywood’s seamier aspect.

blank

Kuba Ka seems through the filming of E! Channel’s New Cash TV collection on the Westgate Las Vegas Resort and On line casino on June 12, 2015, in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Bryan Steffy/Getty

“After I lastly went there, I used to be the happiest individual,” he mentioned. And at first, a lot about it appeared to resonate together with his personal private pursuits, as he was given an “superb” welcome. “They instructed me they might assist with all of my goals.” And he described being handled like royalty immediately.

However I questioned how Scientology would know to deal with him like a star when he wasn’t actually well-known. And he defined that there was a intermediary, a movie producer who labored at Selection journal. (The producer, who labored on promotions on the journal, didn’t reply to my inquiries about why he was funneling individuals to Scientology’s Superstar Centre.)

After that introduction, a Scientology handler named Noah Bolduc was assigned to Kuba and have become their fixed companion on the church.

“I used to be slightly bit stunned that Kuba needed to be a part of this church,” Tina mentioned. “However he was not slightly boy and deserves his freedom. My son’s goals are larger than life.”

However because the love-bombing went on, Kuba’s enterprise companions grew to become more and more suspicious.

“I used to be suspicious that they had been placing a lot into him. I assumed there needed to be an ulterior motive,” mentioned MJ Powers. And Vikki Lizzi had her personal causes for being cautious of Scientology after the experiences of her boyfriend, actor Jeff Conaway, who had died in 2011.

“They want somebody younger,” Vikki piped up, and there was some reality to that. A few of Scientology’s celebrities are getting rather long in the tooth.

“They needed to groom my stardom,” Kuba mentioned.

The remainder of them had been additionally pressured to take programs together with Kuba, and to begin paying giant sums of cash to the church, which they resisted.

In the meantime, even at solely an introductory degree, Kuba Ka was getting some fairly superb therapy and particular entry. Inside only some weeks, for instance, he received to fulfill somebody most Scientologists by no means do: church chief David Miscavige.

“It was the closest factor that got here to assembly Michael Jackson,” he mentioned. “I by no means met somebody who was so highly effective. It was like assembly an emperor or the Pope.”

I requested Kuba about what Vikki had mentioned—that he had additionally had an opportunity to fulfill John Travolta, however he had been instructed it will solely be in personal in a secret room on the Superstar Centre. Kuba smiled, however mentioned he in all probability shouldn’t say something publicly. So we moved on.

Kuba mentioned issues began to get slightly uncomfortable as his twenty sixth birthday was approaching in March 2017, and he and his household and associates started planning their huge charity occasion on the Superstar Centre that was to turn out to be his huge coming-out as Scientology’s new star.

blank

The invitation for Kuba Ka’s twenty sixth party at Scientology’s Superstar Centre

Handout

Kuba, it turned out, had concepts about how Scientology may make some enhancements, and it didn’t go over nicely.

“I instructed him that a few of the programs must be free, or individuals might donate what they needed, even when it was solely a greenback. That’s the way you carry within the homeless and different people who find themselves in want,” he mentioned. “And that’s after they began to not like what I used to be saying. I assumed it must be like bringing individuals to a temple the place everyone seems to be welcome. I might see that wasn’t the case, and it was very painful for me. It’s not what I imagine in. I wish to do issues for different individuals.” (The Church of Scientology didn’t reply to requests for remark.)

In the meantime, he mentioned, the early honeymoon was over and he was being instructed about increasingly guidelines that he needed to abide by if he needed to maneuver up Scientology’s ranks.

“I instructed them I liked their mythology, however I wasn’t actually doing this for non secular causes. I feel they misunderstood that. They needed entry to my checking account and my medical data. They mentioned I wanted to belief them.”

“I attempted to warn him,” Uncle Danny interjected. “I took one course from them 33 years in the past. I knew who they had been and I attempted to warn Kuba. They’re nonetheless sending me fliers 33 years later!”

Kuba additionally had concepts about the way to counter Scientology’s horrible popularity within the media. “I instructed them, you possibly can’t simply reject Leah Remini, it’s best to speak to her. I needed to ask her to the occasion.”

Invite Leah Remini? To the Superstar Centre?

“I mentioned to Noah, please prepare a gathering with David Miscavige so I might give him ideas for these adjustments,” he mentioned. And that’s when he began to listen to that he was changing into an issue.

“Noah mentioned that Pleasure Villa had made a report on me, and that she mentioned I used to be making an attempt to be a Trojan Horse to destroy the church,” he mentioned.

Joy Villa was additionally an aspiring performer who had been working her means by means of Scientology for just a few years. In some unspecified time in the future, she launched herself to Kuba on the Superstar Centre and took a selfie with him.

blank

Later, he mentioned he met with Pleasure and her publicist, and Kuba recommended that to develop Scientology’s attain, they need to go to Washington, D.C. and attempt to meet the brand new president. (“I don’t really help Trump. I simply imply we should always attempt to meet with him as a result of he’s the president. I don’t help anyone. I solely help the United Nations and Queen Elizabeth,” Kuba added with amusing.)

“I had instructed her and her publicist that Scientology was an excessive amount of behind closed gates. Let’s present the love and convey within the media, usher in Leah Remini. And after I instructed them that, Pleasure and her publicist instructed me they couldn’t be round me as a result of I used to be too controversial and was speaking about reaching out to Trump. Then she circled and supported Trump!”

Kuba believed that his suggestion was the seed that motivated Pleasure to put on a “Make America Nice Once more” gown to the 2017 Grammy Awards ceremony, which immediately made her well-known with Trump supporters. She turned it into a number of journeys to the White Home, an exploratory take a look at working for Congress, and he or she continues to work her fame with conservatives on the e-book and lecture circuit. (She didn’t reply once I tried to ask her about Kuba’s declare that he gave her the thought of supporting Trump for consideration to learn Scientology.)

Because the March 2017 get together approached, Kuba and Pleasure had been speaking about writing a tune collectively that will profit human rights, he mentioned. And for the charity ball itself, Kuba had talked to Pleasure about performing one of many songs from his new album with him.

However then he realized from Bolduc that she had submitted a “Data Report” on him. “Pleasure opened our eyes on who you’re, they mentioned.”

“They put him by means of lie-detector checks. It was terrible,” Vikki alleged.

After months of planning, the Scientologists shocked them by saying that such occasions didn’t happen on the Superstar Centre, and it was canceled.

“Might this group actually haven’t any empathy?” Kuba requested me. Each he and Vikki mentioned they’d been adopted in the previous couple of days—Kuba acknowledged his stalker, who he had seen working safety on the Superstar Centre. They requested us what Scientology was able to. Have been they at risk?

Quickly after our dialog, Kuba Ka was briefly hospitalized for nervous exhaustion. The Scientology episode had left him an emotional wreck.

I then heard from his cousin Patrick, who despatched out emails for the household “empire,” that the Kuba Ka identify had been retired, and that we should always now seek advice from him as Amen Ra.

blank

Stepniak had traded in a single pantheon for one more.

Tina Trozzo says that the pandemic was particularly arduous on her son. His profession, which included collaborating with musicians and making appearances at public occasions, got here to a standstill, because it did for thus many different individuals.

However the pandemic had additionally arrived only a few months after one other shock of their lives: The demise of Kuba’s father Andrzej of a coronary heart assault on Dec. 19, 2019, on the age of 67.

Kuba, an solely youngster, had been notably shut together with his dad and mom, and Andrzej usually confirmed up in his movies. His sudden demise was an sudden blow.

Because the pandemic dragged on by means of 2020, Kuba, now restyled Amen Ra, centered on a brand new album that will, as soon as and for all, give him the success he craved. He known as it Creation, and put collectively a number of totally different teaser movies that had been posted to his YouTube channel in June.

Then, postings to the channel stopped. And on Oct. 17, Tina says, the sickness arrived.

There was one thing fallacious with Kuba’s pores and skin—notably his face, but additionally on his arms, legs, and torso.

It frightened and confused them, Tina and Uncle Danny inform me, and docs appeared unable to determine what was making it.

Kuba’s face, which had been, alongside together with his washboard abdomen, his trademark characteristic, was abruptly erupting in open, bleeding sores.

After years of buying and selling on his appears (and complaining that it was all that Hollywood cared about), Kuba’s magnificence was abruptly beneath assault from a horrifying, mysterious ailment.

Sores opened up on different sores till Kuba’s cheeks grew to become one giant black mass of scab, blood, and pus. Related patches of open gore had been showing on his legs and arms.

After years of buying and selling on his appears (and complaining that it was all that Hollywood cared about), Kuba’s magnificence was abruptly beneath assault by a horrifying, mysterious ailment.

Uncle Danny, who was staying with Kuba at his Olive Avenue condo in Downtown L.A., mentioned that it wasn’t simply that his pores and skin was beneath assault, however that he was affected by extended infections and irritation. Bleeding and in intense ache, Kuba was weakening as his docs tried to search out out what was occurring.

“He did 5 totally different biopsies, and no prognosis. However he was bleeding rather a lot and discharge was popping out of his face and physique,” Uncle Danny says.

“Uncle,” I realized, was an honorific. Maghen had met the household in 2011 and had shortly turn out to be very shut.

“He was thanking me and his mom on a regular basis for serving to him. I spent 5 and a half months at his condo. He was the kindest individual I had ever recognized. I by no means heard him use any dangerous phrases,” Danny says. “Tina was in Europe. His associates had left. I used to be driving him to the physician’s and taking good care of him. He was very form to me all the time. COVID was horrible round us these days. He was alone.”

Then, in February, Kuba made one other video.

He titled it “Face Jihad,” and even at just a bit greater than a minute it’s extraordinarily troublesome to observe. It options blood spurting from his face, flashes of his large scabs, and swimming pools of blood on the tiles by his toes.

WARNING: Extremely Graphic Footage

Within the video, Kuba claims that he’s the sufferer of Uncared for Tropical Illness, and that he’s producing a documentary about it. Uncle Danny, who additionally ascribed to the NTD prognosis, instructed me that they believed that when Kuba was in his teenagers, he had gone to Africa to provide charity exhibits, and that he should have been contaminated with a parasite there.

Kuba then squeezes his nostril together with his fingers and a river of blood spurts out on the digicam lens. Nevertheless it was parasites that had been inflicting it, his household believes.

It actually appeared, in an odd means, to suit the Kuba Ka mythology. He had chased immortality as a god of leisure in Hollywood together with his magnificence and expertise, however there was all the time one thing from again there—whether or not in Poland or, on this new model, in Africa—that was stealing from him what he was due.

Tina, describing her son’s ordeal, then instructed me one thing that startled me, and Uncle Danny confirmed it. They each mentioned that Kuba was offended when his major treating doctor revealed his prognosis: psychological sickness.

The household nonetheless refuses to imagine it, insisting that Kuba should have been affected by a tropical illness he picked up in Africa.

However the horrific reality was all too apparent, given his physician’s prognosis.

Kuba Ka was lastly and endlessly ending his exhausting chase of fame by ripping aside his personal face.

Because the spring arrived, Kuba was shedding his battle to the factor consuming his pores and skin.

“He grew to become very weak. He wasn’t in a position to stroll in his final days. He suffered from an enormous quantity of ache. The irritation was in all of his physique,” Kuba’s mom, Tina Trozzo, says.

“He was making an attempt until the tip of his life to be a fighter. He was on the brink of fly to Mass Common Hospital in Boston,” she provides.

Her husband had labored there as a visiting professor just a few years earlier than his demise, and he or she nonetheless had connections there. Kuba was scheduled to fly on Sunday, April 25.

“He needed to dwell and be protected. Kuba was combating for his life with true energy. He had huge plans for his life,” Danny explains.

blank

Kuba Ka poses at The Plaza Lodge on July 24, 2015, in New York Metropolis.

Robin Marchant/Getty

Kuba’s household continues to insist that his docs might by no means correctly diagnose his pores and skin downside, and that their medicines killed him.

That second assertion could actually be the case. Tina not solely turned over Kuba’s detailed post-mortem report back to me, but additionally the ultimate ache drugs prescription that he obtained on April 22, the day earlier than he died.

The post-mortem revealed that Jakub Stepniak, aged not 23 (based on his E! community declare) or 30 (based mostly on what he instructed me in 2017) however really 35, had died of “methadone toxicity.” There was no proof of a parasite or different uncared for tropical illness.

He’d merely overdosed on ache drugs in what the health worker decided to be an accident.

I despatched each paperwork to Andrew Kolodny, a nationwide knowledgeable on the opioid disaster and the medical director of Opioid Coverage Analysis on the Heller College for Social Coverage and Administration at Brandeis College.

(The prescription listed Kuba’s age as 41, however his mom Tina assures me that’s a mistake and that he was born in 1986, not 1980.)

Kolodny examined the prescription and defined to me that Stepniak had obtained each methadone and one other highly effective opioid for ache, a mixture of hydrocodone and acetaminophen recognized generally as “Norco.”

I described to him what the household had instructed me in regards to the physician’s prognosis, and Kolodny mentioned that “neurotic excoriation” was not an unusual affliction, notably for drug abusers who picked at their pores and skin. (Kuba, nevertheless, had by no means been a drug abuser or a drinker, so far as I knew.)

As for the doses of ache drugs, he mentioned they had been surprisingly robust.

“Except he was somebody with a really excessive tolerance for opioids, these are very excessive doses,” he says. “Opioids will not be good medication for continual ache.”

Within the period of opioid overprescribing, it was an all-to-common demise—a 41-year-old taking an excessive amount of ache drugs he had legally been given.

Kuba Ka, the God of Pop, was a mere mortal.

Tina Trozzo held a funeral for her son at Forest Garden Memorial Park in Hollywood Hills on Might 13.

Since then, she has continued to submit pictures to her Fb account of her husband who died in 2019, Andrzej, and her son Jakub from the varied phases of his profession, from the younger Polish charity fundraiser, to Kuba Ka the God of Pop, to his ultimate manifestation, Amen Ra.

“Perpetually alive in my coronary heart,” she says in regards to the each of them.

After I known as Borys Kossakowski final week, he mentioned that on reflection, he didn’t imagine Kuba’s story in regards to the spouse of the Polish president supposedly inflicting his PTSD. “It’s arduous to imagine that she might really be an enemy for him, or act like that. However who is aware of what occurred. And who is aware of what occurred with the cash,” he says, referring to the charity occasions in Poland that made Kuba briefly well-known.

“Folks there had began to understand that it wasn’t in regards to the charity work, however in regards to the creation of the persona of Kuba Stepniak,” he says. “My feeling was that he was very narcissistic, very centered on himself. And he thought of any sort of criticism as an open act of aggression on him. It was him in opposition to the world. You would be his follower or his enemy. There was nothing in between.”

However he added that Stepniak actually was very well-known in Poland. He had turn out to be a giant star there as a really younger man.

Kossakowski says he isn’t positive why Kuba determined to grant him the 2015 interview. He was the primary Polish journalist Kuba talked to after shifting to the U.S. “He mentioned how badly he had been handled, how the journalists in Poland hated him. However that wasn’t real looking.”

In a video he made final 12 months lauding the Black Lives Matter motion, Kuba mentioned that BLM’s struggles reminded him of his personal in Poland, and he briefly flashed on the display an outline of a felony incident.

Kossakowski mentioned it was a reference to a mugging. Kuba had been attacked in 2001 by three males who roughed him up. Within the video, Kuba says that is the supply of his PTSD, not the incident with the president’s spouse.

Both means, Kossakowski believes that Kuba’s mythmaking about no matter had wrecked his life in Poland was a narrative to cowl up how his actual struggles had been within the U.S.

“I feel he’s a sufferer of this American considering you can be whoever you need. He actually pushed this to the restrict. He actually needed to be the God of Pop, and he didn’t wish to have any contact with actuality.”

https://www.thedailybeast.com/the-bloody-and-tragic-end-of-scientologys-biggest-pop-star?supply=articles&through=rss | The Bloody and Tragic Finish of Scientology’s Largest Pop Star

screesnrantss

Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@interreviewed.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 + 1 =

Back to top button