New Jersey Hashish Regulatory Fee Releases First Set Of Guidelines For Authorized Marijuana Gross sales – CBS New York

RIDGEWOOD, N.J. (CBSNewYork) — Almost six months after New Jersey legalized the usage of leisure marijuana, the Backyard State is one step nearer to authorized gross sales within the state.

Thursday, state regulators outlined what the way forward for the hashish trade will seem like.

READ MORE: More Homecoming Week Events Announced For Vaccinated New Yorkers While Other Big Events Announce Cancelations Over COVID Concerns

As CBS2’s Nick Caloway stories, the precise date of authorized marijuana gross sales in New Jersey has not but been introduced, however we’re getting a have a look at the preliminary guidelines put in place to manage the trade.

In a digital announcement Thursday, the New Jersey Hashish Regulatory Fee launched the primary algorithm.

On the enterprise facet, lots of the laws will favor native New Jersey residents with numerous backgrounds making use of to function hashish companies.

The fee can even prioritize candidates with earlier marijuana convictions to make up for disparities of legal guidelines previously.

There are additionally guidelines to guard kids:

  • They can’t enter dispensaries.
  • Hashish merchandise should be bought in child-proof packaging, and that packaging should embody well being warnings.
  • Companies can even face extreme penalties for promoting to minors.

To attempt to make sure secure use amongst adults, individuals over the age of 21 can legally buy and possess as much as 1 ounce of hashish, and driving below the affect is strictly prohibited.

The laws come simply two days earlier than municipalities should determine whether or not to permit pot companies to function inside their borders.

Cities that decide out initially can all the time revisit the matter later, however opting in now means cities and cities are caught with that call for 5 years.

READ MORE: NYPD Investigating Suspicious Death Of Woman Last Seen Alive In Chinatown

With out clear laws from the state till so late within the sport, many cities and cities have determined to take a wait-and-see method.

That’s the case within the Bergen County village of Ridgewood.

“I feel it was essential for us, the Village Council, the village of Ridgewood, to take a cautious method, and by opting out will permit us the chance to review the foundations and laws,” Mayor Susan Knudsen stated.

Seaside Heights additionally voted no to pot gross sales and cultivation.

Mayor Tony Vaz stated he worries about tarnishing the shore city’s new family-friendly picture.

“We’re seeking to present a dynamic of household vacation spot. We didn’t need individuals bringing down their households with youthful children and seeing pot being smoked in public or consuming in public. We don’t allow it,” he stated.

Authorized gross sales of marijuana should start within the subsequent 180 days.

The hashish fee will determine precisely when that’s.

The reguatory fee says extra guidelines are on the way in which within the coming weeks and months.

MORE NEWS: National Weather Service Confirms Tornado Touched Down In Morris County, New Jersey

CBS2’s Nick Caloway contributed to this report.

https://newyork.cbslocal.com/2021/08/19/new-jersey-legal-marijuana-sales-rules/ | New Jersey Hashish Regulatory Fee Releases First Set Of Guidelines For Authorized Marijuana Gross sales – CBS New York

Huynh Nguyen

Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@interreviewed.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button