MLB Gold Glove Awards 2021: Cardinals make history with five winners

November is awards season for Main League Baseball, and on Sunday evening issues acquired kicked off because the league revealed the winners for the 2021 Gold Glove Awards.

Per Main League Baseball, here is the voting course of: 

Given out since 1957, the Gold Glove honors one of the best defenders at every place in every league. Main League managers and coaches, voting solely inside their league and unable to vote for gamers on their very own groups, account for 75 % of the choice course of. The opposite 25 % goes to the sabermetrics group. 

A participant at every place in every league wins, giving us 18 winners in all. 

Notably right here, the Cardinals turned the fourth workforce prior to now 45 years to have three infielders win the Gold Glove in the identical season whereas Nolan Arenado received his ninth. The 9 Gold Gloves at third means Arenado trails solely Corridor of Famers Brooks Robinson (16) and Mike Schmidt (10). Loop within the two Cardinals outfield wins they usually turn into the primary workforce in MLB historical past to win 5 Gold Gloves in a season. 

Under are the 2021 winners (with variety of profession Gold Gloves in parentheses) and the opposite finalists. 

American League

Pitcher: Dallas Keuchel (fifth)

Catcher: Sean Murphy, Athletics (1st)

First Base: Yuli Gurriel, Astros (1st)

Second Base: Marcus Semien, Blue Jays (1st)

Shortstop: Carlos Correa, Astros (1st)

Third Base: Matt Chapman, Athletics (third)

Left Subject: Andrew Benintendi, Royals (1st)

Heart Subject: Michael A. Taylor, Royals (1st)

Proper Subject: Joey Gallo (2nd)

Nationwide League

Pitcher: Max Fried, Braves (2nd)

Catcher: Jacob Stallings, Pirates (1st)

First Base: Paul Goldschmidt, Cardinals (4th)

Second Base: Tommy Edman, Cardinals (1st) 

Shortstop: Brandon Crawford (4th)

Third Base: Nolan Arenado, Cardinals (ninth)

Left Subject: Tyler O’Neill, Cardinals (2nd)

Heart Subject: Harrison Bader, Cardinals (1st)

Proper Subject: Adam Duvall, Braves (1st)

The winners of the Platinum Glove, which fits to the highest defender in every league, might be introduced on Friday. The Platinum Glove features a fan vote element, and you can cast your vote here | MLB Gold Glove Awards 2021: Cardinals make historical past with 5 winners


Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button