MLB Cy Young 2021: Blue Jays’ Robbie Ray takes home the American League

Last season Toronto Blue Jays left-handed dice roll Robbie Ray with a one-year, $8 million deal, and he’s awarding them a Cy Young season in 2021. Wednesday night, the Baseball Writers Association of America announced Ray had beaten him. Yankees ace Gerrit Cole and White Sox correct Lance Lynn for the American League Cy Young.

Ray received 29 out of 30 votes in first place. The other one belongs to Cole.

Ray, 30, had a fantastic first full season with the Blue Jays, throwing a league-best 193 innings while leading qualified pitchers in the ERA (2.84), ERA + (154), WHIP (1,05) and WAR (7.6). He is the first Toronto pitcher to win the award since Hall of Famer Roy Halladay in 2003, and the fifth Blue Jays pitcher overall, along with Halladay, Roger Clemens (1997, 1998) and Pat Hentgen (1996).

Here’s how the three finalists of the American League Cy Young stack up:

Gerrit Cole, Yankees


181 1/3






Lance Lynn, White Sox








Robbie Ray, Blue Jays


193 1/3






The Cy Young Award comes at an outstanding time for Ray, who is currently a free agent and is ready to sign a lucrative long-term contract. Our RJ Anderson ranked him the best freelance initiator on the market and the sixth best freelancer overall. No longer before Cy Young’s announcement, Ray Officially Turns Down $18.4 Million One Year Eligibility Offer.

Cole finished second to Ray in the poll, taking 4th consecutive (and 5th overall) finish in the top 5 in the Cy Young poll. He was the favorite to win the top prize of the season, although he stumbled a bit after that. MLBForeign substance crackdown in June, then he limped to the finish line after a hamstring injury in September. In many other years, Cole won against Cy Young.

Lynn was plagued by a knee problem when straining — he missed five innings to qualify for the ERA title — but he consistently excelled all season. This is his highest ever result in the Cy Young poll and his third consecutive place in the top six. Lynn could have been a free agent this season just like Ray, even though he signed a two-year extension a few weeks ago.

Other American League hurdlers to get Cy Young’s vote this season include leftist White Sox Carlos Rodon and Red Sox correct Nathan Eovaldi. Angel two-dimensional star Shohei Ohtani was the favorite being named AL MVP on Thursday. However, he did not receive any votes from Cy Young. AL Cy Young’s full voting results are available at BBWAA’s website.

Ray is the seventh different pitcher to win AL Cy Young in the past seven years, participating in Shane Bieber (2020), Justin Verlander (2019), Blake Snell (2018), Corey Kluber (2017), Rick Porcello (2016), Dallas Keuchel (2015). The last repeat winner in the Junior Circuit was Clemens in 1997-98. | MLB Cy Young 2021: Blue Jays’ Robbie Ray takes home the American League


Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button