Lorne Michaels, Bette Midler, Joni Mitchell, Justino Díaz & Berry Gordy Announced As 2021 Kennedy Center Honorees – CBS DC

(CBS Local) – The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts has announced the selection of five honorees who will receive the 44th Kennedy Center Honors for lifetime artistic achievement.

The recipients of the honor at the annual national celebration of the arts in Washington, DC are: bass-baritone male musician Justino Díaz; Motown founder, musician, producer and director Berry Gordy; “Saturday Night Live” creator, Lorne Michaels; legendary screen and stage icons Bette Midler; and singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell. These artists will receive an honor during the 44th Annual Kennedy Center Honors, which airs during the 2021-2022 television season on the CBS Television Network and is available to stream and on-demand on the CBS Television Network. Paramount +. CBS has aired the special every year since its debut 44 years ago.

Kennedy Center President David M. Rubenstein said: “The Kennedy Center titles honor those whose art and creativity have enriched us. With his resonant, deep and striking voice, Justino Díaz has stood on the stage of the world’s greatest opera houses and is today one of the greatest bass-baritones of our time. ; Visionary music producer and songwriter Berry Gordy has brought the quintessence of Detroit to every home in America, elevating the Motown sound to a national treasure; Lorne Michaels created the most enduring ‘must-see TV show’ with ‘Saturday Night Live’, a show that is both a mirror and a muse for life in America; an art tour and the divine Miss M of America, Bette Midler has had an unparalleled and prolific career, entertaining millions with her stunning voice and signature comedic wit; and singer Joni Mitchell, who combined raw, deep lyrics with her beautiful ethereal voice on 19 albums, became one of the most influential singer-songwriters and cultural figures in the world. 20th century popular music.”

“This year’s awards represent the unifying power of the Arts and certainly remind us of what binds us together as human beings. These artists are genius, inspiration and entertainment in equal measure,” said Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter. “After the trials and heartaches of the past several months, and as we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Kennedy Center, dare I add that we are prepared to have a ‘party that ends all parties’. in DC on December 5, against these extraordinary things. everyone and welcome the audience back to our campus. We look forward to shaping an even more exciting and airing Honor program with CBS and the producers building on the success and new innovations of our 43rd Honors program earlier in the year. now on. “

In a star-studded celebration onstage at the Kennedy Center Opera House on December 5, honorees will be greeted by today’s top performers from New York, Hollywood and the capitals. art in the world. Seated once more in the Box Tier of the iconic Kennedy Center Opera House, Honorees will accept the recognition and gratitude of their peers through performances and tributes. .


Honor recipients are recognized for their contributions to American culture through the performing arts—whether in music, dance, theatre, opera, film, or television—and are endorsed by the Center’s Executive Committee. The top criterion in the selection process is excellence. Honors are not designated by art form or artistic achievement category; The selection process has, over the years, created a balance between the different arts and arts disciplines.

The Honors selection process involves soliciting proposals from the Kennedy Center Board of Trustees, the arts community, and the general public. This year’s honorees were selected based on the recommendation of the Center’s Special Honors Advisory Committee, chaired by David Bohnett and consisting of David M. Rubenstein, Deborah F. Rutter, Michael Lombardo, Cappy McGarr and Shonda Rhimes, along with former Honorees and acclaimed artists Julie Andrews, Gloria Estefan, Herbie Hancock, Judith Jamison and John Williams. These individuals played an important role in the evaluation and selection process, and the Kennedy Center thanked them for their participation.

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment will executive produce the special for the seventh year in a row. Weiss returned as director. The founder of the Kennedy Honor Center is George Stevens, Jr.


Lorne Michaels, Bette Midler, Joni Mitchell, Justino Díaz & Berry Gordy Announced As 2021 Kennedy Center Honorees


Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@interreviewed.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button