Kevin Falcon wins BC Freedom Leadership in a landslide

Kevin Falcon won the BC Liberal Party leadership race.


Former government ministers Gordon Campbell and Christy Clark won the vote on Thursday.

Falcon won 47% of the vote on the first ballot and passed the required 50% threshold after Stan Sipos, Renee Merrifield, Gavin Dew and Val Litwin voted.

MLA Ellis Ross finished second and MLA Michael Lee finished third.

The party uses a balanced score-based results system for all 87 races in the province.

The leadership has received little attention until the past few days.

Read more:

Kevin Falcon officially joins the BC Liberal Party leadership race

The story continues below the ad

Justice Heather MacNaughton rule earlier than saturday against a petition brought by Liberal member Vikram Bajwa asking the BC Supreme Court to order a delay in the announcement of the race results.

The petition was launched because of concerns about the party’s recent audit of new members it had registered during the leadership campaign.

Litwin, who finished in the race, announced earlier this week that he would quit the party if Falcon wins.

Merrifield, who finished sixth in field seven, also expressed displeasure with Falcon falling simply for accusing the new leader of cheating in the race for the helm.

Falcon has to put all of this behind his back.

Read more:

Andrew Wilkinson officially resigns as leader of the BC Liberal Party months after his election defeat

The new leader’s first business order will be to win a seat in the BC Legislature. It is expected former leader Andrew Wilkinson will resign as MLA to Vancouver-Quilchena.

The BC government will have up to six months to call a by-election and Falcon is expected to run.

Wilkinson led the B.C. Liberals by just 28 seats in the 2020 provincial election and trailed just 34% of the popular vote.

The story continues below the ad

The party won 43 seats in the 2017 provincial elections, with 40% of the popular vote. Christy Clark lost a vote of confidence following the election that resulted in John Horgan becoming BC prime minister.

The BC Liberals saw a significant drop in support in Metro Vancouver, including losing seats in Tri Cities, Surrey, Richmond, Langley, North Shore, Abbotsford and Chilliwack in the last provincial election.

The party also needs to address concerns about diversity and inclusion. Former MLA Laurie Throness was thrown out of the party following comments comparing free contraception with eugenics.

–With files from Canada Press

© 2022 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc. Kevin Falcon wins BC Freedom Leadership in a landslide

Russell Falcon

Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button