In a first, TRS MP Maloth Kavitha convicted for bribing voters

(This story originally appeared in blank on July 25, 2021)

In a rare case, an incumbent member of Congress (MP) was convicted for bribing voters in the 2019 general election.

TRS Lok Sabha MP Maloth Kavitha and her associate were convicted on Saturday by the special session court of the MP&MLA lawsuits in Nampally. The judge sentenced the two to six months in prison. However, the judge granted them bail to file an appeal before a higher court. Kavitha represents the Mahabubabad constituency in Lok Sabha.

This is the third case in recent times that a special court hearing MP & MLA cases has given prison sentences to representatives of the public. However, this is the first time sitting Lok Sabha The MP was found guilty and that too for bribing voters in the election.

During the 2019 general election, revenue officials, who were part of the election squadron, intercepted congressman Shaukat Ali’s aide while he was distributing cash to people (500 each) , looking for their support votes for Kavitha in the Burgampahad police station limited.

“The crew caught Ali red-handed. During the trial, Ali admitted he distributed the money on her orders,” added prosecutor G Narayana said.

In the case, Ali was charged first and Kavitha was the second accused.

Judge Ch VRR Varaprasad, who sentenced the two men under Section 171-E (penalty for bribery) of the IPC, directed both sentenced to six months simple imprisonment and a fine of Rs 10,000 each. Both were present in court when the judge delivered the sentence.

The police presented the crew members and their reports as evidence during the trial. When defendant Ali was brought to trial, he admitted that he had distributed the money offered by Kavitha to influence voters.

The special session court, which came into being in March 2018 after the Supreme Court directed the expedited trial of criminal cases against MPs and the MLA, in the recent past convicted BJP MLA Raja Singh and TRS MLA Danam Nagender and also gave them prison sentences.

Raja Singh was charged with assaulting a police officer at Bolarum police station, while Danam Nagender was convicted of assaulting his aide to assault a government official at Banjara Hills police station. | In a first, TRS MP Maloth Kavitha convicted for bribing voters


Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × two =

Back to top button