Home Run Derby format, explained: Number of rounds, time limits & tie rules for 2021 contest


The House Run Derby has undergone a lot of format adjustments for the reason that inaugural competitors in 1985. 

It was achieved in innings, then outs and now it’s achieved in time. It went from a wide-open area to brackets of gamers. 

However the newest format appears to be a preferred one. Followers benefit from the sooner tempo with batters being now extra inclined to swing typically versus ready for the precise proper pitch to return by. 

This is a rundown of what to anticipate out of the format within the 2021 Home Run Derby.

MORE: Breaking down the Home Run Derby field

What number of rounds are within the derby? 

There are three rounds in the House Run Derby, which operates in a bracket model. Two rivals can be pitted towards each other within the quarterfinals with each hoping to hit as many residence runs as they’ll within the time allotted to them. The batter with essentially the most residence runs strikes on to the semifinals, the place he’ll face off towards the winner of the neighboring bracket. The 2 hitters will undergo the method once more to determine who can be paired up within the finals of the House Run Derby. 

This has been the format of the derby since 2015 when, for the primary time, members confronted off in a bracket to succeed in the finals. Beforehand, every participant was allotted a lot of outs to work with — any swing that did not end in a house run was thought-about an out — to hit as many residence runs as doable. Every hitter had 10 outs from 1991 by means of 2013 earlier than it was modified to simply seven outs in 2014. The highest 4 in residence runs superior to the semifinals, working to slim the sphere down to simply the remaining two for the ultimate spherical. 

What are the cut-off dates? 

Beneath the brand new format, batters have three minutes every to hit as many residence runs as they’ll. The finals can be two minutes. They’re allowed to take as many swings as they want as they don’t face a penalty for swinging and failing to hit a house run. The clock begins as quickly as the primary pitch is thrown. Gamers can take one timeout at any level through the spherical. 

Batters can lengthen their cut-off dates by 30 seconds in the event that they launch two baseballs equal to or farther than 440 toes. That point may be moved as much as 60 seconds if a house run is distributed greater than 475 toes. 

What occurs in a tie? 

There are two steps for a tie within the House Run Derby. Step one is a one-minute spherical the place every batter can have a minute to hit as many residence runs as they’ll. Ought to the batters stay tied after that spherical, there can be three-swing swing-offs till a winner is determined. 

There had by no means been a tie within the first first 4 years of the brand new format, however followers had the prospect to see it happen for the primary time in Cleveland within the 2019 derby, when Vladimir Guerrero Jr. and Joc Pederson have been compelled to do battle in three swing-offs of their second spherical matchup — one timed, and two three-swing swing-offs. Guerrero finally received with a complete of 40 residence runs to Pederson’s 39. 

When is the 2021 House Run Derby?

  • Date: Monday, July 12
  • Time: 8 p.m. ET
  • Location: Coors Discipline, Denver, Colorado
  • Channel: ESPN | ESPN2 (Statcast broadcast)
  • Dwell stream: ESPN+ | fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The House Run Derby can be held on the primary day of the All-Star break, approaching Monday, July 12. Followers can tune into the published on ESPN, or watch the Statcast broadcast on ESPN2. 

These hoping to stay stream can discover each broadcasts both on ESPN+ or fuboTV, which offers a seven-day free trial

Previous House Run Derby champions

This is who has received the House Run Derby previously. Ken Griffey Jr. is the one hitter to win the derby in Colorado. He additionally holds the report for essentially the most House Run Derby wins general, sitting at three, together with 1998 and 1999 when he turned the primary participant to win the occasion in back-to-back years. 

Yr Participant Crew Park (Metropolis)
2019 Pete Alonso Mets Progressive Discipline (Cleveland)
2018 Bryce Harper Nationals Nationals Park (Washington, D.C.)
2017 Aaron Choose Yankees Marlins Park (Miami)
2016 Giancarlo Stanton Marlins Petco Park (San Diego)
2015 Todd Frazier Reds Nice American Ballpark (Cincinnati)
2014 Yoenis Cespedes Athletics Goal Discipline (Minneapolis)
2013 Yoenis Cespedes Athletics Citi Discipline (New York Metropolis)
2012 Prince Fielder Tigers Kauffman Park (Kansas Metropolis)
2011 Robinson Cano Yankees Chase Discipline (Phoenix)
2010 David Ortiz Crimson Sox Angel Stadium (Anaheim)
2009 Prince Fielder Brewers Busch Stadium (St. Louis)
2008 Justin Morneau Twins Yankee Stadium (New York Metropolis)
2007 Vladimir Guerrero Angels AT&T Park (San Francisco)
2006 Ryan Howard Phillies PNC Park (Pittsburgh)
2005 Bobby Abreu Phillies Comerica Park (Detroit)
2004 Miguel Tejada Orioles Minute Maid Park (Houston)
2003 Garret Anderson Angels U.S. Mobile Discipline (Chicago)
2002 Jason Giambi Yankees Miller Park (Milwaukee)
2001 Luis Gonzalez Diamondbacks Safeco Discipline (Seattle)
2000 Sammy Sosa Cubs Turner Discipline (Atlanta)
1999 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Fenway Park (Boston)
1998 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Coors Discipline (Colorado)
1997 Tino Martinez Yankees Jacobs Discipline (Cleveland)
1996 Barry Bonds Giants Veterans Stadium (Philadelphia)
1995 Frank Thomas White Sox The Ballpark in Arlington (Arlington)
1994 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners Three Rivers Stadium (Pittsburgh)
1993 Juan Gonzalez Rangers Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Baltimore)
1992 Mark McGwire Athletics Jack Murphy Stadium (San Diego)
1991 Cal Ripken Jr. Orioles SkyDome (Toronto)
1990 Ryne Sandberg Cubs Wrigley Discipline (Chicago)
1989* Ruben Sierra Rangers Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1989* Eric Davis Reds Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1987 Andre Dawson Cubs Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum (Oakland)
1986* Wally Joyner Angels Astrodome (Houston)
1986* Darryl Strawberry Mets Astrodome (Houston)
1985 Dave Parker Reds Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)

*Each 1986 and 1989 noticed ties within the House Run Derby


Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button