Champions from each season of the league » FirstSportz

ISL Winners List

Indian soccer has undergone dramatic modifications over the previous decade, and if a turning level is to be picked out it must be the beginning of the Indian Tremendous League, which occurred in 2014. The newly launched league quickly grabbed main viewership and raised the requirements of Indian soccer, additionally bringing it to the worldwide stage, which the I-league had did not do beforehand.

Since its inception, the ISL has attracted a number of the finest gamers from all internationally, which has helped improve the model worth of the league by leaps and bounds in these previous 7 editions. The Indian Tremendous League at present exists as the very best stage of soccer within the nation and is all set to start out for its eighth version on the nineteenth of November this 12 months.

With that in thoughts, we have a look into the ISL winners record over the previous 7 years.

ISL Winners Listing from 2014

2014- Atletico De Kolkata

Atletico De Kolkata winning the title in 2014
Atletico De Kolkata gained the title in 2014

Atletico De Kolkata gained the inaugural season of the ISL, after having a superb marketing campaign within the league levels. With Luis Garcia as their marquee participant and Antonio Lopez Habas as their supervisor, the aspect from Kolkata confirmed the quantity of depth and expertise the maidans from Kolkata produce yearly.

Within the ultimate of the primary season, they confronted Kerala Blasters on the DY Patil stadium, in what turned out to be an exhilarating finish to a brand new period in Indian soccer. Atletico De Kolkata’s Mohammad Rafique scored a 92nd-minute winner from a nook to etch his and his membership’s identify in historical past ceaselessly.

2015- Chennaiyin FC

Chennaiyin FC with the 2015 title
Chennaiyin FC with the 2015 title

Chennaiyin FC gained the trophy within the second season, making a comeback for the ages underneath Italian legend Marco Materazzi’s tutelage. The South Indian aspect, completed third within the group levels profitable their final 4 league matches and incomes themselves a spot within the play-offs.

Using on the heroics of Colombian striker Steven Mendoza, who gained the Golden Boot that 12 months scoring 13 objectives they stormed into the finals defeating Atletico De Kolkata by a margin of 4-2. Pitted towards FC Goa within the finals, they made one other comeback to clinch the title within the ultimate encounter as they got here again from 2-1 down within the ultimate 10 minutes to win the match 3-2 ultimately within the 92nd minute by means of talisman striker Steven Mendoza.

2016- Atletico De Kolkata

ATK champions of 2016
Atletico De Kolkata champions of 2016

Atletico De Kolkata continued their dominance within the Indian Tremendous League and gained their second title this time underneath new supervisor Jose Francisco Molina. With a largely remodelled aspect, which concerned international gamers like Portuguese striker Helder Postiga, Canadian striker Ian Hume and South African winger Sameehg Doutie, they managed to complete fourth within the league desk, to creep into the play-off spots.

They got here up towards league leaders Mumbai Metropolis FC within the semi-finals and Molina’s aspect gained the two-legged contest by a margin of 3-2. Within the finals, they confronted acquainted foes, Kerela Blasters whom they’d performed in 2014, and managed to do the double over them profitable the match 4-3 on penalties after the match ended 1-1 in regulation time.

2017-18 Chennaiyin FC

Chennaiyin FC 2017 18 - FirstSportz
Chennaiyin FC 2017-18

What Atletico De Kolkata can do, it appeared Chennaiyin FC might do as properly, as they turned the second membership to win the title two instances in 2017. The Indian Tremendous League had an growth that 12 months, with two new sides becoming a member of the league making it a 10-team affair and Chennai got here up trumps to double their tally.

Chennaiyin FC completed second within the league desk and went on to face third-placed FC Goa within the semi-finals. With John Gregory as their supervisor, they managed to win the semi-finals comprehensively and confronted new entrants Bengaluru FC within the finals. Chennaiyin gained the finals, performed on the Kanteerava stadium with objectives from Brazilian duo- Mailson Alves and Renato Augusto by a margin of 3-2.

2018-19 Bengaluru FC

Bengaluru FC 2018-19
Bengaluru FC 2018-19

I-League’s huge boys didn’t want a lot time to stamp their authority on the Indian Tremendous League as properly, making amends for the loss within the finals of the 2017 version. The Blues continued their sizzling streak from 2017-18 and completed the league levels on prime for the second time operating. Carles Cuadrat’s aspect had veteran Indian gamers within the type of Sunil Chhetri, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu and Rahul Bheke, all of whom helped them come out on prime within the semi-finals and finals with essential contributions.

Bengaluru FC defeated NorthEast United within the semi-finals by 4 objectives to 2 within the two-legged tie and defeated FC Goa by the smallest doable margin courtesy of a 117th-minute headed winner from Rahul Bheke.

2019-20 ATK

ATK 2019-20 Champions
ATK 2019-20 Champions

Atletico De Kolkata, enjoying underneath the brand new identify ATK since 2017-18, turned the primary membership to win the Indian Tremendous League title thrice once they gained it in 2019-20. They introduced again their outdated title-winning coach from the inaugural season, Antonio Lopez Habas and the Spaniard delivered speedy success main his aspect to the title.

ATK completed second among the many 10 golf equipment after the top of the group stage phases and made their approach into the ultimate levels of the season. The Kolkata primarily based aspect have been pitted towards Bengaluru FC and wanted a comeback victory within the second leg of the semi-finals to guide their place within the finals for the third time. They gained the second leg 3-1 after shedding the primary match 1-0 away.

Nonetheless, within the finals, they didn’t want to provide something of that kind and comfortably gained 3-1 towards Chennaiyin FC to elevate the coveted ISL title for the record-breaking third time.

2020-21 Mumbai Metropolis FC

After years of underwhelming outcomes, Mumbai Metropolis lastly gained their first Indian Tremendous League title underneath coach Sergio Lobera. They’re the defending champions and had a superb run in 2020/21 the place they completed prime of the league levels courtesy of their higher objective distinction than ATK Mohun Bagan.

Mumbai needed to face fourth-placed FC Goa within the semi-finals, and it turned out to be an exhilarating encounter between the 2 neighbouring sides from the South which ultimately was clinched by Mumbai. After the match ended at 2-2 over each legs, a rigorous penalty shootout was wanted to separate the 2 sides. After 9 kicks, Mumbai Metropolis gained the tie 6-5 to make their entry into their maiden ISL ultimate.

Additionally Learn: Barcelona appoint Xavi as new head coach after triggering Al-Sadd release clause | Champions from every season of the league » FirstSportz


Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button