CFDA Announces 2021 Scholar Award Winners – WWD

As extra firms attempt to entice future generations and empower them with information to pursue careers in trend, the Council of Style Designers of America has raised the bar with its 2021 CFDA Scholar Award recipients.

Celebrating the twenty fifth anniversary of the CFDA Scholarship Program, the group is handing out a file $500,000 in scholarships to 19 trend college students. Greater than 320 candidates from 22 American trend faculties and graduate packages have been vying for this yr’s scholarships.

Established in 1986 by CFDA member Monika Tilley, the CFDA Scholarship Program awarded $3,000 scholarships to 10 college students, based mostly on benefit at its first version. It has helped such students-turned-designers as Peter Som, Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez and J. Crew alum Chris Benz. The CFDA has awarded greater than $2.2 million in scholarships because the program started. From 2015 by 2020, 76 p.c of the scholarships have been awarded to ladies and 72 p.c have been introduced to college students with ethnic or various backgrounds, based on the CFDA.

CFDA members Patricia Underwood and Jeffrey Banks made donations to this yr’s scholarship fund in reminiscence of Tilley, an activewear pioneer and advocate for younger expertise, who died in February on the age of 86.

Acknowledging how the CFDA scholarships have helped many younger designers “understand their goals within the trend business,” CFDA chief government officer Steven Kolb stated in an announcement: “We launch into the subsequent 25 years with a robust scholarship program that addresses the particular areas required for American trend to have a number one function within the world trend panorama.”

The $50,000 Geoffrey Beene Design Masters Scholar award goes to Padina Bondar-Gibbs of Parsons College of Design. Iyomi Ho Ken from the College of the Artwork Institute of Chicago will obtain $50,000 as a part of the CFDA COVID-19 Aid Fund, a $100,000 discretionary fund. Catie Marron helped to make that attainable with a person donation of $25,000.

The American Attire & Footwear Affiliation donated proceeds to the CFDA Scholarship Fund, as did different companions.

There are a number of $25,000 students this yr, together with Nayon Kim of Parsons College of Design, who’s receiving the CFDA Design Scholar Award, and Rebecca Flood of Parsons College of Design, who’s the winner of the CFDA Suntchi Picture-Maker Award.

There have been two additions to this yr’s awards. The CFDA and the Coach Basis joined forces to launch the Coach Dream It Actual x CFDA Design Scholarship that’s geared for an underrepresented scholar with monetary wants. Six college students will every obtain $25,000 scholarships. The consideration is geared towards and shall be awarded to college students who want to use their designs to advocate, advance and rework trend and whose portfolios replicate that.

Coach artistic director Stuart Vevers stated in an announcement: “I do know firsthand how transformative an training could be in serving to younger designers nurture their voice and discover group.”

As well as, the CFDA and the Swarovski Basis are debuting the Swarovski Basis Re:Technology Innovation Scholar Award to encourage progressive design pondering inside sustainable programs. Bailey Adams of the Fashion Institute of Technology is the primary recipient of the $30,000 award.

Acknowledging the brand new three-year partnership with the CFDA, the inspiration’s chairperson Nadja Swarovski stated the award is an element “of our mission to foster creativity and drive progress towards the [U.N.’s] 17 Sustainable Growth Objectives.” | CFDA Declares 2021 Scholar Award Winners – WWD


Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button