3 talking points from ICC’s announcement of 2021 T20 World Cup groups

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has introduced the 2 groups for the 2021 T20 World Cup. The mega occasion will probably be held in Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from October 17 to November 14.

The 2021 T20 World Cup was earlier speculated to be held in India however needed to be shifted to the UAE and Oman owing to the pandemic scenario in India. The Board of Management for Cricket in India (BCCI), nonetheless, have retained the internet hosting rights of the occasion.

Wanting on the teams for the 2021 T20 World Cup, Australia, England, South Africa and the West Indies are in a single group of Tremendous 12s whereas India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and New Zealand are within the different group.

The teams have been created based mostly on the rankings of the workforce as of March 20, 2021. A separate qualifying spherical (Spherical 1) will probably be performed, that includes two teams. The highest two sides from every group will qualify for the Tremendous 12s.

Eire, Netherlands, Namibia and Sri Lanka are in Group A of Spherical 1 while Oman, PNG, Scotland and Bangladesh are in Group B.

2021 T20 World Cup Teams: 3 takeaways

With the ICC releasing the teams for the 2021 T20 World Cup, we analyze three takeaways from the announcement.

#1 How India and Pakistan might conflict twice within the T20 World Cup

India vs Pakistan
India vs Pakistan

Two former T20 World Cup champions and arch-rivals, India and Pakistan, have been positioned in the identical group. They’re thus assured to satisfy within the group stage, the primary conflict for the reason that 2019 50-over World Cup match in Manchester, the place India hammered Pakistan by 89 runs by way of the Duckworth-Lewis methodology.

If each India and Pakistan qualify as the highest two groups from their group, they may meet opponents from the opposite pool within the semi-finals. If each Asian giants then win their respective semis, we may very well be in for a grand Indo-Pak ultimate. In the event that they had been in separate teams, India and Pakistan would have met instantly in one of many knockouts (semi-finals or ultimate), relying on their qualification.

India and Pakistan had met within the ultimate of the inaugural T20 World Cup in Johannesburg in 2007. And it was one humdinger of a recreation, which went proper right down to the wire.

#2 Powerful problem for defending champions West Indies

Defending champions West Indies
Defending champions West Indies

West Indies are the one workforce to have received the T20 World Cup twice. They’re the defending champions, having defeated England by 4 wickets within the 2016 ultimate in Kolkata, with Carlos Brathwaite hammering Ben Stokes for 4 consecutive sixes. Earlier than that, West Indies had captured the crown for the primary time in 2012, after they beat Sri Lanka by 36 runs in Colombo.

West Indies will undoubtedly head into the 2021 T20 World Cup as one of many favorites. They’ve distinctive power-hitters in Andre Russell, skipper Kieron Pollard and, in fact, Chris Gayle. West Indies’ bowling has additionally proven enchancment in current instances, with the return of the versatile Dwayne Bravo proving to be an enormous constructive.

Having stated that, the West Indies discover themselves in a troublesome group within the 2021 T20 World Cup. England are undoubtedly among the many finest limited-overs sides at current in world cricket. Australia might have struggled towards the Windies not too long ago however as soon as their star gamers are again, they are going to be a power to be reckoned with. South Africa proved with their T20I win over West Indies that they’re no pushovers within the shortest format.

#3 Nice likelihood for Eire to qualify for Tremendous 12s

Ireland cricket team. Pic: Getty Images
Eire cricket workforce. Pic: Getty Photographs

Eire love enjoying World Cups and upsetting huge groups. Lately, they created historical past after they clinched their first ODI win over South Africa following a complete 43-run victory in Dublin. Whereas Eire have made it to Spherical 1 of the 2021 T20 World Cup, they’d be disillusioned in the event that they don’t progress to the Tremendous 12s.

They’re positioned in a gaggle which additionally consists of Sri Lanka, the Netherlands and Namibia. Eire needs to be assured of getting previous Namibia. They could have additionally misplaced the ODI collection by a 2-1 margin within the Netherlands final month. However in relation to ICC occasions, Eire at all times appear to deliver out their finest.

Expertise-wise, Sri Lanka ought to qualify for the Tremendous 12s. Given their present state although, it wouldn’t be a shock if Eire defeat the Lankans within the group. The highest two sides from the 2 teams in Spherical 1 will qualify for the Tremendous 12s. It might be a shock if Eire aren’t one in every of them.



Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@interreviewed.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button