Business

12 songs you probably didn't know were originally meant for Rihanna

rihanna, The Fashion Awards 2019
Rihanna.

  • Rihanna has rejected numerous songs that have been later recorded by different artists.
  • Not each tune initially supposed for her was an ideal match for the albums she'd been engaged on.
  • Some songs rejected by Rihanna embody Pitbull's "Timber" and Sia's "Chandelier."
Mike WiLL Made-It initially envisioned “We Cannot Cease” being sung by Rihanna, not Miley Cyrus.

Miley Cyrus in "We Can't Stop" music video
Miley Cyrus launched "We Can't Cease" because the lead single from her fourth studio album "Bangerz" on June 3, 2013.

“It was sort of loopy ‘trigger … after I initially labored on ‘We Cannot Cease,’ we had did it for Rihanna,” Mike WiLL Made-It told MTV News. “The concept was extra in the direction of Rihanna.”

The producer added that after Rihanna heard her “Unapologetic” monitor “Pour It Up,” she pivoted to engaged on that “instantly. And she or he did not even hear ‘We Cannot Cease.'”

Nevertheless, Cyrus “nailed the report, and he or she did it along with her swag,” he stated. “So it sounds completely totally different from what we initially tried to provide you with.”

The Chainsmokers initially confirmed Rihanna their tune “Do not Let Me Down.”

Daya in "Don't Let Me Down" music video
The Chainsmokers launched their tune "Don't Let Me Down," that includes Daya, on February 5, 2016.

Rihanna turned down a collaboration on the electropop duo’s tune, however they have been OK with it, according to a 2016 Rolling Stone interview.

As an alternative, the pair welcomed “Conceal Away” singer Daya aboard the mission. Together with her help, the tune made its approach into the highest three of the Billboard Hot 100 chart in July 2016.

The songwriters of “Harmful Girl” initially had Rihanna and Alicia Keys in thoughts for the tune, not Ariana Grande.

Ariana Grande in "Dangerous Woman" music video
"Harmful Girl" is the lead single from Ariana Grande's third studio album of the identical identify.

Songwriter Ross Golan told CBS News in 2017 that he initially needed Carrie Underwood to tackle the tune. However after they completed it, they thought it’d work for Keys or Rihanna earlier than Grande got here alongside. 

“There aren’t lots of artists which might be appreciative of the songwriters, however the ones you wish to work with are folks like Ariana, who got here within the room and stated, ‘Please let me do that tune and if I do, I promise I will deal with it nicely,'” he stated.

After Drake heard Rihanna’s model of “Discover Your Love” he actually needed to make use of the tune.

Drake in "Find Your Love" music video
Drake's "Discover Your Love" was launched in 2010.

“Drake heard Rihanna’s model and was like, ‘I actually wish to use this report,’ and I used to be like, ‘Man, ask her!'” report producer No I.D. stated in a 2011 interview with Complex.

“So he ended up with the beat after which when he recorded it he was singing, and I used to be like ‘Phrase? Singing. You are actually rolling with this, huh?’ Drake took it and made his personal magic report,” the producer defined. 

Rihanna did not act fast sufficient to acquire “Fairly Hurts” from Sia, and so Beyoncé ended up with it.

Beyoncé in "Pretty Hurts" music video
Beyoncé launched the music video for "Fairly Hurts" on April 24, 2014.

“I despatched it to most likely Rihanna’s folks and Beyoncé’s folks. Rihanna put it on maintain and he or she had it on maintain for eight months, however her administration forgot to safe it by paying for the monitor,” Sia told ABC News in July 2014.

“So what occurred is that Beyoncé simply slid into house base and threw the cash down and it was a very awkward scenario,” she added.

Sia was stunned Rihanna did not settle for the tune “Chandelier” when she pitched it to her.

Maddie Ziegler in "Chandelier" music video
Sia launched "Chandelier" because the lead single from her sixth studio album "1000 Types of Concern."

“‘Chandelier,’ I did attempt to pitch it to Rihanna, and I used to be stunned she did not take it ‘trigger I believed it was the best tune on the earth on the time,” Sia said in an interview with Good Morning America in June 2020. 

Sia’s “Low cost Thrills” was “slightly bit too Brit-pop” for Rihanna.

Maddie Ziegler in "Cheap Thrills" music video
Sia launched her single "Low cost Thrills" on December 17, 2015.

Whereas discussing Rihanna’s rejection of No. 1 pop hit “Low cost Thrills,” Sia told Rolling Stone, “Her supervisor stated, ‘We’d like soul. We wish some music that has feeling.'”

She then went off and made “Low cost Thrills” for Rihanna however “realized simply as quickly as I used to be chopping it that it sounded slightly bit too Brit-pop for her.”

“We did really ship it to her, however they handed on it,” she stated.

“Come & Get It” was initially supposed for Rihanna’s “Discuss That Discuss” album, not Selena Gomez’s “Stars Dance” album.

Selena Gomez in "Come & Get It" music video.
Selena Gomez launched her single "Come & Get It" in April 2013.

Songwriter Ester Dean had initially made “Come & Get It” for Rihanna’s sixth studio album, “Discuss That Discuss,” according to Oprah Magazine.

Nevertheless, the Barbadian singer handed on the tune, leaving it obtainable for the former Disney Channel star

“Identical Previous Love” “wasn’t proper for” Rihanna, however Gomez was “into it.”

Selena Gomez in "Same Old Love" music video
Selena Gomez launched her single "Identical Previous Love" on September 10, 2015.

During a Tumblr Q&A in 2016, Charli XCX, who cowrote the tune, stated she thought “at one level Rihanna was gonna sing it or one thing, however then I believe the course of her report modified and it wasn’t proper for her anymore.”

“Then I believe Selena heard it and was into it and he or she sang it and it simply suited her voice and her story so nicely. The tune felt so emotional and actual coming from her. I used to be actually completely satisfied she minimize it, it felt very highly effective,” the songwriter added. 

Rihanna could not sing on Pitbull’s tune “Timber” resulting from a previous dedication she had with Shakira.

Pitbull in "Timber" music video
Pitbull launched his single "Timber," that includes Kesha, on October 7, 2013.

In December 2013, Pitbull revealed in a 2013 interview on “Child Kraddick within the Morning” that Rihanna was presupposed to be singing the hook of his “International Warming: Meltdown” monitor, not Kesha.

“The individual we have been taking a look at first to work on that report was really Rihanna and Rihanna had one thing she needed to do with Shakira, so she wasn’t capable of work on our report,” he stated, according to Just Jared.

Diplo’s membership hit “Lean On” was rejected by each Rihanna and Nicki Minaj.

MØ in "Lean On" music video.
Main Lazer launched "Lean On" as a single on March 2, 2015.

Each Rihanna and Nicki Minaj turned down Diplo’s supply to report the membership hit, the DJ revealed in a 2015 Time interview.

However he in the end determined that MØ, who in the end supplied the vocals for the tune, “sounds higher than anyone was going to sound on that report,” he stated.

“DJ Acquired Us Fallin’ in Love” did not make it on Rihanna’s “Loud” album, however did make it on Usher’s “Raymond v. Raymond” album.

Usher in "DJ Got Us Fallin' In Love" music video
Usher launched his single "DJ Acquired Us Fallin' in Love" on June 13, 2010.

The 2010 monitor was one in all 200 songs that have been written for however by no means made it onto Rihanna’s fifth studio album, “Loud,” according to MTV.

Nevertheless, the monitor ended up on Usher’s sixth studio album, “Raymond v. Raymond,” and from there, made its method to No. 4 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Learn the unique article on Insider

https://www.insider.com/rihanna-rejected-songs-hits-other-artists-2021-7 | 12 songs you most likely didn't know have been initially meant for Rihanna

Apkdownload

Inter Reviewed is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@interreviewed.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button